• Mozart - Ave Verum Corpus for Brass Quintet - Cherry Classics Music

Mozart - Ave Verum Corpus for Brass Quintet

Composer: Mozart

Arranger: Toomey

$13.50 USD



Dated within the last six months of the composer's life, the Ave Verum Corpus, K. 618, is a profound example of the unrivaled beauty, elegance and simplicity of Mozart's style. It is a stand-alone choral work based on a sacred Latin text, probably written for a Corpus Christi service in Baden, near Vienna.

Often cited as one of Mozart's most “perfect” works, it’s sublimity inspired the following remarks from Albert Einstein: “The perfection of modulation and part-writing, lightly introducing polyphony as a final intensification, (is) no longer perceived. Here...ecclesiastical and personal elements flow together. The problem of style is solved.”

Originally scored for four-part chorus (SATB), Organ and Strings, this arrangement preserves the original key and markings; The only additions are the “Molto Cantabile” marking in the Solo Voice and the suggested metronome marking of Quarter note = 80.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store