• Holst - St. Paul’s Suite for 10-part Brass Ensemble - Cherry Classics Music

Holst - St. Paul’s Suite for 10-part Brass Ensemble

Composer: Holst

Arranger: Haynor

$47.50 USD



Holst's St. Paul's Suite has been transcribed for 10 part Brass Ensemble (double Brass quintet) by James Haynor. This four movement work is a classic originally written in 1912 for string orchestra and is named after the "St. Paul's Girls' School" in the UK where Holst was Music Director for almost 30 years. He later added wind parts to allow more of his students to participate.

The four movements are titled as follows:
I. Jig: Vivace (alternating between 6/8 and 9/8 time)
II. Ostinato: Presto
III. Intermezzo: Andante con moto
IV. Finale (The Dargason): Allegro (arranged from the "Fantasia on the Dargason" from his Second Suite in F for Military Band)

This transcription is scored for the following instruments:

4 Trumpets in C (B-flat parts are also supplied)
2 Horns
2 Trombones
2 Tubas

The complete work is over 13 minutes in length for advanced performers.
This work would be a major addition to a concert or recital.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store