• Russell - Sonata for Trombone and Piano - Cherry Classics Music

Russell - Sonata for Trombone and Piano

Composer: Russell

Arranger: Original Composition

$27.50 USD



The first movement, “Prologue”, consists of an Exposition (Bars 1-42) with a main theme followed by four development sections and ending with a return to the main theme, before a short Coda.

The second movement, “Variants” is a set of seven variations on the theme presented in the opening with descriptive terms pointing out the contrasts between the variations.

The final movement is titled an “Epilogue” follows the general structure of ABCDCEBA which is a modified arch form. The movement has an abundant use of dance-like syncopated rhythms, but with a lyric and less active middle section D for contrast. This work of about 17 minutes in length is suitable for advanced performers.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store