• Kempton - Lament for Trombone and Organ - Cherry Classics Music

Kempton - Lament for Trombone and Organ

Composer: Kempton

Arranger: Kempton

$25.00 USD



Lament for Trombone and Organ by composer Jeremy Niles Kempton is a serious and lyrical work of about six minutes in length for advanced performers. The original version is for Trombone and string orchestra.  It was composed and performed within a two week period at a memorial concert given for Helen Manheim, a Violist in Mr. Kempton's Island Chamber Symphony on Long Island, NY.  Ms. Manheim died rather suddenly, and her passing left the composer with a deep feeling of regret at having taken her and so many other ICS musicians for granted. The piece consists of three lengthy phrases.  The first, epitomizes the grief at her passing.  The second, presents her life and consists of three phrases, all starting the same but each striving higher.  The final section is her legacy of what she leaves behind.  The Orchestral score and parts are available form Cherry Classics. The live performance features Mr. Kempton on the Trombone.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store