• Bruckner - Ecce Sacerdos Magnus for 10-part Brass Choir - Cherry Classics Music

Bruckner - Ecce Sacerdos Magnus for 10-part Brass Choir

Composer: Bruckner

Arranger: O'Neil

$35.00 USD



Ecce Sacerdos Magnus (“Behold the Great Priest”) comes from the early European tradition of plainchant. Bruckner’s setting of the responsory, originally scored for eight-part mixed choir, organ and three trombones, brings certain medieval qualities to an otherwise Romantic-era composition.

This transcription for 10-part brass choir is appropriate for intermediate level and above and attempts to retain the majesty, power, and beauty of the original piece. It should be approached as a choral piece: connected and fluid. The harmonic language is essentially triadic; great care should be taken in the tuning of each chord throughout the piece.

Instrumentation is for: 3 Trumpets in B-flat, 2 Horns, 3 Trombones, Euphonium and Tuba. 

Listen to the live performance by a young group of musicians conducted by Dr. Paul Stevens, Professor of Horn at KU.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store