• Davis - Miss Trombonism for Trombone and Concert Band

Davis - Miss Trombonism for Trombone and Concert Band

Composer: Davis

Arranger: Hettinga

$77.50 USD



Miss Trombonism by African American composer, trombonist, bandleader, and publisher Nathaniel Cleophas "Shorty" Davis was written in 1918 as a Trombone solo in the American genre of Ragtime featuring the trombone's patented glissando as the "hook". These solos were also called smears or jazzes.

Miss Trombonism is one of five entertaining works of Davis' "Trombone Family" written between 1915 and 1921 with the subtitle - A Slippery Tune. The granddaughter of "Oh Slip It Man" and daughter of Mr. Trombonology. 

This arrangement has been wonderfully arranged by Aaron Hettinga for Trombone (the whole section can perform it) and Concert Band and is playable by moderately advanced performers.

Cherry Classics Music will be publishing the complete series of these works by Davis.

Thanks to Douglas Yeo for his research and advice.

Free PDF Sample


Below is the original conductor's condensed score of the music as published by C.G. Conn in 1918.

Search our store