• Frith - Ludwig's Cortege for 8-part Low Brass Ensemble - Cherry Classics Music

Frith - Ludwig's Cortege for 8-part Low Brass Ensemble

Composer: Frith

Arranger: Frith

$42.50 USD



This unique work is a musical depiction of Beethoven's funeral cortege through the streets of Vienna. Here is a brief description of the work by composer John Frith:

"It is well documented that at Beethoven's funeral on March 26th, 1827, a choir of trombones and male voices made appropriate music. This is not that music, but rather an attempt to recreate something of the sombre mood of that historic occasion."

The work was written in honour of Rubén Carughi and "Trombonanza" friends for an 8-part low brass ensemble with moderately advanced performers with an instrumentation of:

1 Alto Trombone, 5 Tenor Trombones, Euphonium/Trombone and Tuba/Bass Trombone 

Here is an excerpt from the ITA Journal review:

John Frith’s Ludwig’s Cortège is an accessible work that falls well within the capabilities and instrumentation of many intermediate to advanced trombone or low brass choirs.                                                                             (Greg Strohman, Jan 2019)

Free pdf Sample

Search our store