• Kempton - Lament for Trombone and String Orchestra - Cherry Classics Music

Kempton - Lament for Trombone and String Orchestra

Composer: Kempton

Arranger: Kempton

$55.00 USD



Lament for Trombone and String Orchestra by composer Jeremy Niles Kempton is a serious, lyrical work of about 6 minutes in length for advanced performers.

The work was composed and performed within a two week period at a memorial concert given for Helen Manheim, a violist in Mr. Kempton's Island Chamber Symphony on Long Island, NY. Ms. Manheim died rather suddenly and her passing left the composer with a deep feeling of regret at having taken her and so many other ICS musicians for granted.

The composition consists of three lengthy phrases. The first phrase epitomizes the grief of her passing. The second phrase presents her life and consists of three phrases, all starting the same but each striving higher. The final phrase represents her legacy.

The live performance features Mr. Kempton as soloist.

Free pdf Sample

Search our store