• Lasso - Domine, ne in Furore for Brass Quintet

Lasso - Domine, ne in Furore for Brass Quintet

Composer: Lasso

Arranger: McKinney

$17.50 USD



Domine, ne in Furore by Orlando di Lasso has been arranged for brass quintet by Russell McKinney. The music is taken from the seven Penitential Psalms that Lasso presented for exclusive use in Albrecht’s court shortly after he was appointed Maestro in 1563. The seven Penitential Psalms (6, 32, 38, 51, 102, 130, & 143 in Anglican numbering) have been in specific liturgical use from early in Western Christianity and therefore were a significant offer to his patron. He added another dimension to his versions by setting each psalm in a different church mode. The numbers in his collection indicates the mode of the setting, rather than the number of the psalm. This arrangement is of the first two sections of Penitential Psalm No. 3 which is Psalm 38 set in the Phrygian Mode.

This arrangement is appropriate for moderately advanced performers and does not present any serious challenges for technique, range or endurance. Instrumentation is for traditional brass quintet with 

Free PDF Sample

Search our store