• Narins - Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra (2020) with Piano reduction

Narins - Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra (2020) with Piano reduction

Composer: Narins

Arranger: Narins

$32.50 USD



Cherry Classics is pleased to introduce Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra  2020 (Piano reduction) by San Francisco-based composer/conductor Mark Narins. The concerto is in 4 movements:

I. Prayer, II. Meditation, III. Call and Response, IV. Exaltation

Here is a description of the work by composer Mark Narins:

Prayer: The first movement starts with a shimmering tremolo in the strings over which the silver voice of the trombone plays an arching phrase that lingers on an extended appoggiatura. The trombone is a lone mystic reaching for the sky and then falling perilously down to the pedal register. Later the orchestra breaks into a frenetic vamp over which the trombone plays intense ascending scales and passagework. The movement ends with an ascent to a high C#, moving to a final ringing high C.  

Meditation: After the harp lays out a series of arpeggiated chords, the trombone plays a warm, rich theme in the middle range. The following episodes are variations on this theme. The trombone moves into the upper register, floating with the ease of a lead trombone in a big band. The movement ends with an ascending yearning phrase reaching a high D as the soloist touches the sky and then comes gently back to earth.

Call and Response: The orchestral accompaniment starts in an anxious, mysterious tonality. The trombone enters with a burst of energy playing a machine gun series of Fs. The movement develops into a series of short brilliant solo passages answered boldly by the orchestra. This movement showcases the stunning declamatory powers of the trombone.

Exaltation: Movement 4 starts as an allegro with intense tremolos in the basses.  The trombone breaks out into an articulated driving theme followed by several extended melodic passages. Midway in the movement the strings abruptly lay out a syncopated Latin dance rhythm over which the trombone climbs from the bottom to the top of its range in rapid triplets. In the final codetta the trombone accelerates the dance tempo and climaxes on a series of high C#s in a brilliant and joyous fashion. 

The composer wishes to thank Megumi Kanda, Principal Trombonist of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra for her invaluable help and talents with the editing of this new work. 

The concerto is 27 minutes in duration and is appropriate for advanced performers. This version with Piano is a reduction of the full Orchestral version (to be published in the near future).

Here are a few comments on this new Concerto:

* Ken Andresen, New York freelance musician

The new Trombone Concerto by Mark Narins is a very exciting piece with dramatic contrasts between the slow and fast sections. The move to the finish of the piece makes for a great wrap-up. It's a real blow for the player, really exploring the range of the instrument. It will be demanding and fun for the trombonist. “ 

• From David Rejano Cantero:

Thanks for reaching out! Congratulations for a great piece! It would be my pleasure including it in future performances. Thanks for letting me know. All the best - David

• From Gary Greenhoe:

" listened to the Concerto for Trombone digital performance...and must say I really like it!  It is truly refreshing with what I thought was a Scandinaviaish  palette." 

"The Concerto is refreshing in concept and very clean, uplifting in a way that reminds me of some of Neilsen's writing,,in that it doesn't get depressing. Yet your piece is really unique.  It is inspiring and uplifting."

Free PDF Sample

Megumi Kanda live performance in recital with Pianist Janna Ernst

Search our store