• Raum - Quartet for Brass

Raum - Quartet for Brass

Composer: Raum

Arranger: Raum

$37.50 USD



Elizabeth Raum's Quartet for Brass was written in 1980 and is just now being published for the first time. The work is in four movements: 1. Prelude, 2. Scherzo and Blues, 3. Passacaglia and Fugue and 4. Rondo. It is written for two Trumpets in B-flat, Tenor Trombone and Bass Trombone for advanced performers and is about 15 minutes in length.

The music is very expressive and tonal. Below is a brief description of the work by the composer, Elizabeth Raum.

This piece is very much based on various musical forms. The Prelude has opened many a musical work from Baroque to the present. Then follows Scherzo and Blues, a light-hearted bonbon moving into a lazy blues. Next is pure Baroque starting with a Passacaglia followed by a Fugue based on the Passacaglia progression. And finally finishing up with the Rondo, in a major key, light-hearted, canonic in places, with a feeling of the evolution of musical form.

Below is a live performance of the Quintet for Brass a close cousin to the Quartet for Brass. Same music with the same movements.

Free PDF Sample

Search our store