• Allegri - Miserere for 5-Part Trombone Ensemble - Cherry Classics Music

Allegri - Miserere for 5-Part Trombone Ensemble

Composer: Allegri

Arranger: Sauer

$25.00 USD



Miserere mei, Deus (Have Mercy on me, O God) is a setting of Psalm 51 written in the 1630's and most likely sung in the Sistine Chapel during Good Friday of Holy Week. It is a wonderful example of polyphony in five parts.

This work, beautifully arranged for 5-Part Trombone Choir (Ensemble) by Ralph Sauer, is about 5 minutes in length (with repeat) and is appropriate for moderately advanced performers.

There is a story that this work was heard twice by a young 14-year-old Mozart during a special visit to the Vatican with his father in 1770. He transcribed it perfectly from memory creating the first unauthorized copy (the Church wished to preserve its mystery and forbad copies, threatening excommunication). The very next year it was published in England.

Free pdf Sample

YouTube® performance by the King's College Choir 

Search our store