• Barber - Adagio for Strings for Trombone Octet - Cherry Classics Music

Barber - Adagio for Strings for Trombone Octet

Composer: Barber

Arranger: Pugh

$37.50 USD



Adagio for Strings is Samuel Barber's best known work. It was written in 1936 as the second movement of his String Quartet, Op. 11 and as a separate work for String Orchestra. It's first performance was by Arturo Toscanini and the NBC Orchestra. The 10-minute work is full of pathos, serious and dramatic.

This beautiful arrangement by Jim Pugh is for Trombone Octet, for advanced performers.

This arrangement is under license from G. Schirmer, Inc.

The live performance is from the Eastman School of Music senior recital of Gordon Cherry in 1971, including Jim Pugh and other students of Emory Remington

Free pdf Sample

Search our store