• Bartok - Romanian Folk Dances for Trombone & Piano - Cherry Classics Music

Bartok - Romanian Folk Dances for Trombone & Piano

Composer: Bartok

Arranger: Sauer

$27.50 USD



Bartok's Romanian Folk Dances is a short six-movement suite originally composed for Piano in 1915 and later arranged for Violin and Piano by Zoltan Szekely. The six movements are:

  1. Stick Dance
  2. Sash Dance
  3. Standing Still
  4. Horn Dance
  5. Romanian Polka
  6. Fast Dance

The movements are in the following modes (Dorian, Aeolian, Mixolydian and Lydian), which along with unique harmonies give them a very exotic sound. The Suite takes about five minutes to perform and is suitable for advanced performers.

Listen and watch a very fine live performance of this work on YouTube by trombonist Jonathan Houghtling and pianist Dr. Eun-Hee Park from a faculty recital at the Alabama School of Fine Arts from 2022.

Free pdf Sample

YouTube link to a performance of the Bartok Romanian Folk Dances

Search our store